AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

With regards to the use of Shellac (insect derivative) in food preparation, is it halaal? This is mostly found in sweet / chocolate production.

Fatwa 18147English
Food and Drink

Question

With regards to the use of Shellac (insect derivative) in food preparation, is it halaal? This is mostly found in sweet / chocolate production.

Answer

In the name of Allah, Most Gracious, Most Merciful

Assalaamu `alaykum waRahmatullahi Wabarakatuh

In principle, it is not Halaal to consume any insect or any part of it. Shellac is the secretion of the female lac bug. This secretion will be regarded as Halaal based on the analogy on the honey produced by a bee. However, during the process of manufacturing it into a glazing agent for sweets, chocolates etc, if there are traces/particles of this bug in any item (sweets, chocolates, etc), it will not be permissible to consume such items.

And Allah knows best

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Darul Iftaa

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

فما لا دم له مثل الجراد والزنبور والذباب والعنكبوت والخنفساء والعقرب والببغاء ونحوها لا يحل أكله إلا الجراد خاصة وكذلك ما ليس له دم سائل مثل الحية والوزغ وسام أبرص وجميع الحشرات وهو أم الأرض من الفأر والجراد والقنافذ والضب واليربوع وابن عرس ونحوها الفتاوى الهندية - (ج 5 / ص 289(

Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.