AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

There are various articles, on the net saying coke contains alcohol, is it haraam

Fatwa 2972English
Food and Drink

Question

Questions regarding coke. There are various articles, on the net saying coke contains alcohol, is it haraam or not, yet many muslims are still drinking it, what would be your advice or verdict halal or haraam or another.

Answer

Principally, if the alcohol is extracted from grapes or dates it is not permissible. Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, 'Khamr (wine) is from these two trees, dates and grapes.' (Mishkãt p. 317).

Furthermore, Rasulullah (Sallallaahu Álayhi Wasallam) said, 'Alcohol itself is prohibited and intoxication in every other beverage.' (Hidaaya vol. 4 p. 497).

In view of the abovementioned Hadith, since the alcohol in coke is from ethanol which is fermented from sugar cane mollasses and does not intoxicate, it is permissible. However, if one is doubtful, he may exercise precaution and abstain.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
FATWA DEPT.

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.