AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

Is ethanol alcohol from other than grapes and dates permissible in foods and sweets?

Fatwa 3132English
Food and Drink

Question

Ethanol alcohol in foods and sweets. In one of your answers you said that coke had alcohol and it was halal because it did not come from dates or grapes. Is it then true to say if the same kind of alcohol is found in sweets or in food is it still permissible to eat the food?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Yes, but with certain conditions. Please see our detailed article which outlines the conditions of consuming foods and drinks that contain this type of alcohol #31176

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.