AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

Is the gravy from a haram chicken haram?

Fatwa 31404English
Food and Drink

Question

I ate some amount of gravy tonight.

Is the gravy in Indian style curry haram if the chicken is not halal ?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

The curry will be haram due to the chicken being haram[1].

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Immad Bin Arshad

Student Darul Iftaa
California, USA

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

www.daruliftaa.net

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1] الدر المختار وحاشية ابن عابدين (رد المحتار) (1/ 325)

(وماء) بالمد (ورد) أي: جرى (على نجس نجس) إذا ورد كله أو أكثره ولو أقله

Answered by
Immad Bin Arshad
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.