AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

Kefir Milk

Fatwa 36744English
Food and Drink

Question

I would like to know if drinking kefir is halaal. It seems that the prophet Muhammad AS provided the grains to a particular people. I could not find any authentic narations. None the less there is an amount of alcohol that develops during the fermentation of .01% to 3%. Please provide detailed explanation. Jazakullahu khayran.

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Kefir milk is halal.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Huzaifah Deedat

Student Darul Iftaa
Lusaka, Zambia

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Huzaifah Deedat
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.