AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

Are seacod pills halaal?

Fatwa 41376English
Jurisprudence and Rulings (Fiqh)

Question

Is consuming seacod pills halal in Islam?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, The Most Merciful.

As-salaamu `alaykum wa-ramatullahi wa-barakatuh.

Cod liver oil is a dietary supplement derived from liver of cod fish (Gadidae).[1] As with most fish oils, it contains the omega-3 fatty acids, eicosapentaenoic acid (EPA) and docosahexaenoic acid (DHA). [1]

Fish are halaal. The Seacod pills are halaal if they are not mixed with anything haram.[2]

And Allah Ta`ala Knows Best.

Hussein Muhammad.

Student Darul Iftaa

Arusha, Tanzania

Checked and Approved by:

Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

References (Arabic / Urdu sources)

[1]

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cod_liver_oil

[2]

التنبيه على مشكلات الهداية (5/ 751)

قوله: (والميتة المذكورة فيما روى محمولة على السمك، وهو حلال مستثنى من ذلك لقوله عليه السلام: "أحلت لنا ميتتان ودمان، أما الميتتان فالسمك والجراد، وأما الدمان فالكبد والطحال")

التجريد للقدوري (2/ 741)

لنا: أن السمك أبيح أكله [بدمه] فحل دمه محل سائر أجزائه.

الأصل للشيباني ط قطر (5/ 369)

قلت: أرأيت السمك يصيده المجوسي فيسمي أو لا يسمي (4) هل يؤكل؟ قال: نعم، لا بأس به (5). قلت: ولم؟ قال: لأن السمك ذكاته أخذه، والمجوسي وغيره في ذلك سواء؛ لأن السمك لا يذكى.

Answered by
Hussein Muhammad
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
View original Ask AskImam directly

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.