Is it permissible to eat some Halaal food (Like Cheese Burger or French Fries) from a Restaurant which sold Haraam diets also like Hamburger,wine etc
Question
The question text was not published separately; the title stands in for it.
Is it permissible to eat some Halaal food (Like Cheese Burger or French Fries) from a Restaurant which sold Haraam diets also like Hamburger,wine etc
Answer
At the outset, it must be noted that the Shariah has emphasized exercising precaution consuming halaal and abstaining from haraam. Therefore, the Noble Quran advises to eat that which is Tayyib (halaal beyond doubt). Furthermore, Rasulullah (Sallallaahu alayhi wa sallam) advised us to abstain from places where one can be accused of engaging in haraam.
Basically there are two points to consider before eating at any place.
a) The food outlet must be owned (not managed) by a good and upright Muslim. When in doubt, abstain - that is best for your taqwa.
b) The fact that a non-Muslim owned outlet selling only fish, for example, also cannot be "trusted" simply because the law of halaal applies beyond the frontage of the outlet. The area of concern is the kitchen. In one case, a strictly fish outlet - served nothing but only fish - looked absolutely fine until a Muslim employee expressed concern that the owner and family regularly prepare their meals at the same kitchen serving pork, beacon, etc. prepared in the same fryer, utensil, etc.
Therefore it is a misconception by some that we may eat if "alcohol is not served" or "not served to us".
Was salaam
Ahmad Kathrada
ADMINISTRATOR
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.