Are mayonnaise and butter halal.
Question
I want to know weather its halal to consume mayonaise and butter?
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykumwa-rahmatullāhiwa-barakātuh.
In principal, mayonnaise and butter will be Halal (permissible) to consume as long as they do not contain any Haram (impermissible) ingredients or E-numbers.
An E-number that is used in some butters and mayonnaises’ is E441. This is gelatin and is also known as ‘gelfoam’ and ‘puragel’. The ruling for this E-number is that the gelatin from fish and correctly slaughtered (Halal) beef is considered Halal.Gelatin from pork is Haram.[1]
Refer to the following websites for further information. www.sanha.co.za and www.muslimconsumergroup.com.
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
[1]http://www.sanha.co.za/a/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=448&Itemid=261
http://www.muslimconsumergroup.com/e-numbers_list.html?panna=4
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.