Ingredients information regarding E422

· 14 Rajab 1436 AH1 min readFatwa 32761English
Food and Drink

Question

Brand Name:

Sugarflair colours

Product Name:

Spectral paste concentrate to colour icing, marzipan etc

Ingredients:

E422, E1520, E551, E153(vegetable carbon)

Nut free, gluten free, Gm free, suitable for vegetarians

Now my question is I have checked all the ingredients in this product all are halal except E422. If it's from plant fat than its halaal. Since the product is suitable for vegetarians (which means its of plant fat) and I even emailed them and the reply was, its from plant fat . Please tell me can I now consider this product halaal ?

Answer

In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.

As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.

Plant fat is permissible. In principle, it is permissible to accept ingredient related information from Non-Muslims. As a matter of precaution you may also refer to a reliable halal verifying body source for further advice.

And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best

Abdullah Ghadai

Student Darul Iftaa
Michigan, U.S.A

Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.

Answered by
Abdullah Ghadai
Checked & approved by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.