Microbial Enzymes in Cheese
Question
Is the microbial enzymes in cheese halal?
Answer
In the Name of Allah, the Most Gracious, the Most Merciful.
As-salāmu ‘alaykum wa-rahmatullāhi wa-barakātuh.
Microbial enzymes are extracted from molds that possess an enzyme that is similar to chymosin, an enzyme that is found in rennet.[1]
Accordingly, the cheese that is made with microbial enzymes is Halal to consume.[2]
And Allah Ta’āla Knows Best
Shakib Alam
Student - Darul Iftaa
Pennsylvania, USA
Checked and Approved by,
Mufti Ebrahim Desai.
References (Arabic / Urdu sources)
[1] https://www.thespruceeats.com/what-is-vegetarian-rennet-591572
https://www.jensencheese.ca/en/rennet-vs-microbial-enzymes
https://standingstonefarms.com/pages/microbial-rennet-what-is-it-and-how-important-is-it
[2] (سورة البقرة 172,173)
يَاأَيُّهَا الَّذِينَ آمَنُوا كُلُوا مِنْ طَيِّبَاتِ مَا رَزَقْنَاكُمْ وَاشْكُرُوا لِلَّهِ إِنْ كُنْتُمْ إِيَّاهُ تَعْبُدُونَ (172) إِنَّمَا حَرَّمَ عَلَيْكُمُ الْمَيْتَةَ وَالدَّمَ وَلَحْمَ الْخِنْزِيرِ
(سورة البقرة 61)
{وَإِذْ قُلْتُمْ يَامُوسَى لَنْ نَصْبِرَ عَلَى طَعَامٍ وَاحِدٍ فَادْعُ لَنَا رَبَّكَ يُخْرِجْ لَنَا مِمَّا تُنْبِتُ الْأَرْضُ مِنْ بَقْلِهَا وَقِثَّائِهَا وَفُومِهَا وَعَدَسِهَا وَبَصَلِهَا قَالَ أَتَسْتَبْدِلُونَ الَّذِي هُوَ أَدْنَى بِالَّذِي هُوَ خَيْرٌ
- Answered by
- Shakib Alam
- Checked & approved by
- Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.