AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

are all types of soy sauce containing soya beans, wheat and salt haram or are all naturally brewed soy sauces haaram.

· 21 Ramadan 1423 AH1 min readFatwa 7127English
Food and Drink

Question

Referring to the following article are all types of soy sauce containing soya beans, wheat and salt haram or are all naturally brewed soy sauces haaram. Please reply as soon as possible. I'm really confused. Jazakallahu khaira Wassalam Naturally Brewed Soy Sauce There May be Alcohol in Your Fried Rice Kikkoman naturally brewed soy sauce contains alcohol even though ingredient list on the package does not show it. By Syed Rasheeduddin Ahmed Posted: 5 Jamad-ul-Awwal 1422, 26 July 2001 www.albalagh.net

Answer

We cannot say that all Soya sauces are Haraam. It has been found that this particular brand contains alcohol, hence, we can say that this particular brand is Haraam.

We have no information about the other brands.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Moulana Imraan Vawda
FATWA DEPT.

Answered by
Moulana Imraan Vawda
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.