AskImamDarul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam)

I keep finding out new haram ingredients. I research one and find out about others. I've eaten haram stuff or at least may have been...Should I expect to be forgiven?

· 8 Safar 1424 AH1 min readFatwa 8354English
Food and Drink

Question

I keep finding out new haram ingredients. I research one and find out about others. I've eaten haram stuff or at least may have been, and have made touba over 3 times. One time may have been a pig ingredient, the other is human, other is non halal, other maybe alcohol, etc. In a hadith a person who drinks 4 times and makes touba the last time wont be forgiven and prayer wont count for 40 days. If I ate another thing haram do I make touba? Should I expect to be forgiven? Then another might come.

Answer

It is compulsory to enquire about the ingredients of edibles being Halaal or Haraam before consuming them. If there is a doubt, then too it is compulsory to abstain from such edibles.

If you consumed some edibles after thoroughly enquiring about the ingredients being Halaal or Haraam and later come to know that the information was incorrect and the ingredients were Haraam, then you will be excused.

and Allah Ta'ala Knows Best

Mufti Ebrahim Desai

Answered by
Mufti Ebrahim Desai
Ask AskImam

Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Darul Iftaa Mahmudiyyah (AskImam). It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.