Trace Alcohol in Biscuits
Question
Recently, a post has been circulating declaring certain biscuits as Haraam due to them containing minute amounts of synthetic alcohol. We have consumed the said biscuits for many years and they are Halaal-certified as well. Kindly clarify whether the synthetic alcohol renders the biscuits Haraam.
Answer
As per the Hanafi Mazhab, alcohols are divided into 2 types: Khamr and non-Khamr.
Khamr is alcohol derived from dates and grapes while non-Khamr is alcohol derived from other substances. The ruling regarding Khamr is that it is impure and Haraam, regardless of the amount and whether it intoxicates or not.
The ruling of non-Khamr is that its use and consumption are permitted when used in non-intoxicating applications like perfume or medicine etc. It is Haraam when used in intoxicating applications like alcoholic beverages.
The trace alcohol content in the said biscuits is from non-Khamr alcohols which the post acknowledges as synthetic alcohol. Its consumption is therefore permitted as one cannot become intoxicated from its consumption and neither is it intended for the same. [Ahsanul Fatawa 8 : 489, Fataawa DU Zakariyyah 6 : 672]
And Allah Ta’ala Knows Best
- Answered by
- Mufti Moosa Salie, Mufti Taahir Hansa
Fatawa SA is an independent, read-only index of fatawa already published by Jamiatul Ulama KZN. It is not a fatwa service. For your own situation, ask the issuing Darul Ifta directly.